CofC Logo

Faculty and Staff Listing

Philosophy Faculty

Larry Krasnoff, Professor & Chair
Larry Krasnoff Office: 14 Glebe Street, Room 202
Phone: 843.953.4987
Email: krasnoff@cofc.edu
Interests: Moral and Political Philosophy, Kant and Hegel. Profile
Jennifer Baker, Associate Professor
Jennifer Baker Office: 16 Glebe Street, Room 103
Phone: 843.953.7272
Email: bakerja@cofc.edu
Interests: Virtue Ethics, Political theory, Environmental and Business Ethics, Bioethics, and American philosophy. Profile
Deborah Boyle, Professor
Deborah Boyle Office: 16 Glebe Street, Room 200
Phone: 843.953.7810
Email: boyled@cofc.edu
Interests: History of Modern Philosophy, 17th-century Women Philosophers, Mary Astell, Anne Conway, and Margaret Cavendish. Profile
Christian Coseru, Associate Professor
Christian Coseru Office: 4B Glebe, Room 205
Phone: 843.953.1935
Email: coseruc@cofc.edu
Interests: Philosophy of Mind, Phenomenology, Epistemology, Indian and Buddhist Philosophy, Hellenistic Philosophy. Profile
Todd Grantham, Professor
Todd Grantham

Office: 16 Glebe, Room 100
Phone: 843.953.8011
Email: granthamt@cofc.edu
Interests: Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Biology, and Epistemology. Profile

Darren Hick, Visiting Assistant Professor
Todd Grantham

Office: 16 Glebe, Room 300
Phone: 843.953.8061
Email: hickdh@cofc.edu
Interests: Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Biology, and Epistemology. Profile

Sheridan Hough, Professor
Sheridan Hough Office: 14 Glebe Street, Room 301
Phone: 843.953.5681
Email: houghs@cofc.edu
Interests: 19th and 20th-century Philosophy, Phenomenology, Philosophy of Literature, Feminist Philosophy. Profile
Kate Kenney-Newhard, Administrative Assistant
Kate Kenny_Newhard Office: 14 Glebe Street, Room 101
Phone: 843.953.5687
Email: kenneynewhardk@cofc.edu
Rachel McKinnon, Assistant Professor
Deborah Boyle Office: 16 Glebe Street, Room 102
Phone: 843.953.1719
Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Language, Metaphysics, Decision Theory, Metaethics, Feminism and Gender Issues. Profile
Thomas Nadelhoffer, Associate Professor
Thomas Nadelhoffer Office: 16 Glebe Street, Room 102
Phone: 843.953.5687
Email: nadelhofferta@cofc.edu
Interests: Moral Psychology, Free Will, Punishment Theory, and Neurolaw. Profile
Jonathan Neufeld, Associate Professor
Jonathan Neufeld Office: 14 Glebe Street, Room 302
Phone: 843.953.5687
Email: neufeldja@cofc.edu
Interests: Philosophy and Music, Aesthetics, Political Philosophy, and Philosophy of Law. Profile
Richard Nunan, Professor & Pre-Law Advisor
Richard Nunan Office: 14 Glebe Street, Room 201
Phone: 843.953.5687
Email: nunanr@cofc.edu
Interests: Political Philosophy, Gender Studies, Philosophy & Film, Philosophy of Science, and History of Philosophy. Profile
Marty Perlmutter, Professor and and Director of Yaschik/Arnold Jewish Studies Program
Marty Perlmutter Office: 96 Wentworth Street
Phone: 843.953.7625
Email: perlmutterm@cofc.edu
Interests: History of Jewish Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion. Profile
Emeritus Professors
Ned Hettinger, Emeritus Professor
Ned Hettinger Email: hettingern@cofc.edu  Interests: Environmental Philosophy, Aesthetics, Business Ethics. Profile
Glenn Lesses, Emeritus Professor
Glenn Lesses Email: lessesg@cofc.edu   Interests: History of Ancient Greek Philosophy, especially Socrates, Plato, and Hellenistic Philosophy, Stoic Moral Theory. Profile
Hugh Wilder, Emeritus Professor
Hugh Wilder Email: wilderh@cofc.edu   Interests: Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Language, Aestetics, Philosophy of Sport.

Affiliated Faculty

Claire Curtis, Professor
Claire Curtis Office: 114 Wentworth Street, Room 206
Phone: 843.953.6510
Email: curtisc@cofc.edu
Interests: Utopia and dystopia, and the intersections between political philosophy and fiction. Profile
Sam Flores, Assistant Professor
Sam Flores Office: 306C Randolph Hall
Phone: 843.953.1998
Email: floresso@cofc.edu
Interests: Ancient Philosophy, especially Plato, Greek Political Thought. Profile
Michael Gomez, Associate Professor
Michael Gomez Office: 139 JC Long
Phone: 843.953.7125
Email: gomezm@cofc.edu
Interests: The intersection between science, philosophy and literature; Spanish cultural and intellectual productions of the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries. Profile
Daniela Goya-Tocchetto, Adjunct Professor
Dani Toya-Tocchetto Office: 
Phone: 843.953.5687
Email: goyatocchettod@cofc.edu
Interests:  Profile
David Schenck, Assistant Professor -- Medical University of South Carolina
David Schenck Office: 169 Ashley Ave, Suite 260 MH, MSC 332
Phone: 843-792-9652
Email: schenck@musc.edu
Interests: Biomedical Ethics
Jen Wright, Associate Professor
Jen Wright Office: 65 Coming St., Office 104
Phone: 843.953.8196
Email: wrightjj1@cofc.edu
Interests: Developmental Psychology, Advanced Child & Adolescent, Happiness, Psychology of Violence. Profile